St Oswald's RC Primary and Nursery School, Accrington

Skip to main content
23rd March 19
Trail : home / Classes : Class 4 - Miss Lakeland

Class 4 - Miss Lakeland

All about Class 4


The next stage of a child's journey through St Oswald's is Class 4.  In this class we have children from Year 1 and Year 2.

They learn lots of wonderful things about lots of different topics.  They learn about Guy Fawkes in History and about electricity in Science.  The children have Mathematics and Literacy lessons every day, where they learn everything from number to angles in Maths and how to write super stories and perfect poems in Literacy! The children are also taught phonics every day to help them become more confident in their reading.

For more information about what this class learns, please click on their cycle A and B overviews.

If you wish to know more about the Year 1 and Year 2 curriculum, please do not hesitate to contact school.

Reading in Class 4


The children will continue to use the Letters and Sounds programme to assist them in their reading.  Please look through the phases below.


Phonic Knowledge and Skills

Phase One (Nursery/Reception)

Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.

Phase Two (Reception) up to 6 weeks

Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.
Phase Three (Reception) up to 12 weeks The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.

Phase Four (Reception) 4 to 6 weeks

No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segent longer words with adjacet consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.
Phase Five (Throughout Year 1) Now we move on to the "complex code". Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.
Phase Six (Throughout Year 2 and beyond) Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.

 The reading schemes used in Key Stage 1 are -

  • Collins - Big Cat
  • Oxford Reading Tree
  • Folens

All parents receive a Termly Curriculum Map which shows what their child will be learning about in that Term across all subjects.